Skip to main content

Club News

2022 HSCC annual awards

By Club News

Thanks to those that attended the recent Hobart Sporting Car Club Rides Day and Awards Presentation. The attendance far exceeded the committees expectations and the amount of drivers that took vehicles was fantastic. Thanks to those drivers for taking the time and making the effort to provide rides to sponsors and the hard working officials, without which we wouldn’t be able to hold motorsport events.

The Annual Club Awards were presented to deserving recipients in front of a much larger than normal crowd, it was fantastic to see the members recognised for their accomplishments and hard work throughout the year.

Congratulations to all that received awards.

Rookie of the Year – Ben Curtain. Ben received this as the highest point scoring HSCC member and rookie in the 2022 Tasmanian Circuit Racing Championship.

Sportsperson Award – Phil Ahlin. Phil wasn’t present to receive his award but it was well earned by him for his efforts competing here in Tas and also on the Big Island. 

Lyn Archer Award – Jeremy Dyer. Jeremy received this as the highest point scoring HSCC member in an open wheeler this year. 

Denis J Pooley Young Clubperson Award – Brock Winkle. Brock received this as a young HSCC member that has made a significant contribution to motorsport by alway being helpful and there for other competitors. 

Clubperson Award – Krystyna Sutton. Krystynas dedication to the HSCC both at the track and away from it is significant, she is always helping others, willing to do whatever is needed and bakes a pretty good slice.

Service Awards – Presented to those that have been significant supporters of the HSCC over at least 5 years.

Adrian Wilson, Kim Barwick, Darren Martin and Dennis ‘Herby’ Burgess.

Appreciation Certificates – went to those that support the club in general.

Marcus Hart, Debbie Hudson and Kingston Locksmiths

Vale Tony Hudson

By Club News

We are saddened to announce the passing of one of the Hobart Sporting Car Club’s most dedicated volunteers – Tony Hudson.

Tony made a very significant contribution to the Club and motorsport in general through various roles he performed including Club Secretary, Club Treasurer, Club Membership Officer and Race Secretary. Added to that he and his wife Deb ran the spectator gate at Baskerville and if that wasn’t enough Tony was an important member of the Baskerville Historics Committee and most recently a founding member of the Baskerville 1000 Committee – an event Tony had a great affinity to. Motorsport and family were the driving forces behind Tony’s life.

He will be greatly missed in motorsport circles and also within his family – our sincere condolences to wife Deb and extended family.

Tony always said it was motorsport that gave him purpose in life especially in his latter years. Tony was very proud of his achievements – what an honour knowing your contribution has made a big difference to your community of interest.

Thank you Tony for everything you have done and to your family for supporting you in your motorsport endeavours.

Funeral details are below:

Friday 18th November at 12.30pm
Turnbull Funerals
71 Letitia Street, North Hobart
Friends and family are welcome to witness his final lap of Pepsi Max Baskerville Raceway at 2pm after his funeral.

For those that cannot make it, here is the Funeral live stream link.

Notice of a Special General Meeting for Constitution updates

By Club News

Hobart Sporting Car Club advise of an upcoming Special General Meeting for the purpose of considering a special resolution to change the Hobart Sporting Car Club of Tasmania’s Constitution. The updated Constitution (V0.8) can be viewed in the link below.

HSCC Constitution V0.8

This meeting is called as per the agreement made at the August Special General Meeting to further update the Constitution as per members request and revisit within 3 months.
The special resolution to change the Clubs Constitution  is the only item on the agenda.

The purposes of this special resolution are to:
1. Update a document that is inconsistent with the current Tasmanian Government Model Rules and in some areas irrelevant;
2. Update Membership application and approval processes to allow for the online members portal;
3. Update the Banking and Finance section to allow for online transactions and increase the unauthorised amount that is able to be spent by a member of the Committee to $200;
4. Generally revise and update the format, language and readability of the document.

The details of the meeting are as follows:
Date: Tuesday 29th November 2022
Time: 7pm
Place: The Civic Club, 134 Davey St, Hobart, 7001
Snacks and refreshments will be provided.

Please RSVP your attendance to or 0408 679 908.

Melanie Beets
Hobart Sporting Car Club

New Club Treasurer sought

By Club News

Due to the recent retirement of our long-serving treasurer, the HSCC is seeking a capable person to undertake this volunteer role.

It’s not onerous task but it IS an important one.

The Club has more than 400 members so we’d like to think that somewhere among this cohort – plus their families, friends and supporters – is an intelligent person with established basic admin skills who could join the current volunteer committee in helping to keep the Club strong and vibrant.

There would be plenty of help and advice from experienced club members during the transition and beyond.

The Club is preparing for an exciting and financially sustainable future. A keen, committed Treasurer is an essential part of the team taking us there.

Please consider this role or recommending a suitable candidate.

Please send queries or expressions of interest to or call Club President Mike Ellis for a chat on 0409 418 988

Click HERE for a Role Description.


By Club News

Former Club President and Chairman Mike Ellis had been acting HSCC Chairman for the past several months following Graeme Soden’s resignation. At the recent AGM Mike was officially returned to the role.

Ayrton Richardson remains Vice President while the Treasurer role remains vacant (for now) following the retirement of longtime Treasurer and occasional Race Secretary Tony Hudson after a stellar 14 years of service in senior roles. However, Tony continues as Membership Officer.

Greg Mays stepped back to General Committee but retains the important Event Secretary role. He is replaced as Club Captain by Krystyna Sutton – the first female Club Captain in the Club’s history.

In addition to Greg, the General Committee is Andrew Bird, Mike Ashmore, Cam Kuc and Donald Potter.

Adrian Wilson stepped down from the committee after several years valuable service.

Special General Meeting

At the preceding Special General Meeting it was advised that the motion to adopt a new Club Constitution would not be put. It was deferred for approximately three months to enable further consultation and changes.


By Club News, TCRC

The HSCC held its annual awards ceremony on then Saturday evening of the final round of the Tasmanian Circuit Racing Championship at Baskerville on 20 November.

The newest and 16th HSCC Life Member,  Tony Hudson, was formally presented with his award.

Veteran racer Mick Cross was awarded SportsPerson of the Year, Greg Mays won Clubperson of the Year, Cameron Kuc is the J. Denis Pooley Young Clubperson recipient, Campbell Logan picked up Rookie of the Year, and Michael Vaughan collected the Lyn Archer Award for open-wheel competition.

HSCC Appreciation Certificates for services to the Club in 2021 were awarded to Greg De Vries, Kevin Knight, Mike Ashmore, Debbie Hudson, Andrew Bird and Ken Claridge.